Freelancing and work permit renewal

I know it’s a long shot to get an answer here since it seems like most people are Swedish, but I will try anyway.

I have been working in Sweden as a software engineer for more than 2 years now and I have gotten a second work permit with the profession “IT Konsult”. I am considering to start my own (limited) company to do freelancing IT consultancy - thanks for the instructive article “Employee vs Freelancer” @Anna :star: .

However, I have concerns about being able to renew my residence permit once again after two years and eventually get the permanent residency.

So this is a shoutout to anyone who started their own company with a non-permenant work permit, or anyone who knows any information or referral to get help about this topic (other than migrationsverket since I contacted them and I’m still waiting for their response):

• Do I have to change my work permit type to “self-employed” or is it fine to keep my “IT Konsult” work permit since at the end of the day I will be employed as an IT consultant in my own company.
  • Is there anything with owning a company that affects the renewal of the work permit? other than having the right insurances and paying the taxes correctly

Thank you in advance for any information!

1 gillning

I have no experience so I’m just sharing thoughts hoping for someone smarter than me to add to this thread.

I suggest calling bolagsverket at phonenumber 0771 670 670 according to their website and asking them directly since not understanding this clearly will have big effects for you. I’m unsure if you can dial 0771 by +46 771 or if you need to call from a swedish phone.

I’m also assuming you have to check this from two countries. Your home countries have policies around permits and visa as well. its not just the Swedish government.

I dont think Skatteverket.se has much do with work-permits but I would verify that with them too directly.